Confirmed Speakers

Conference Host:

Barbara Hendricks 
Minister of Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety, Germany

Confirmed Speakers (in alphabetical order):

Bas van Abel
CEO of Fairphone

Leyla Acaroglu

2016 UNEP Champion of the Earth

Frank Appel
CEO of Deutsche Post DHL Group

Ignatius Baffuor Awuah
Minister for Employment and Labour Relations, Ghana

Abdoulaye Balde
Minister of Environment and Sustainable Development, Senegal

Nestor Batio Bassiere
Minister of the Environment Green Economy and Climate Change, Burkina Faso

Christoph Beier
Vice-Chair, Management Board Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ)

Harsh Kumar Bhanwala
Chairman of National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development, India

Winnie Byanyima

Executive Director of Oxfam International

Marc Chardonnens
State Secretary for the Environment, Director of the Federal Office for the Environment, Switzerland

Sir Partha Dasgupta
Frank Ramsey Professor Emeritus of Economics at the University of Cambridge

Edgar Gutiérrez Espeleta

Minister of Environment and Energy, Costa Rica and President of the UN Environment Assembly

Elsa Galarza
Minister of the Environment, Peru

Elliot Harris
Assistant Secretary-General and Head of the UN Environment New York Office

Connie Hedegaard
Chair of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Round Table for Sustainable Development

Virginie Helias
Vice President Global Sustainability of Procter & Gamble

Cameron Hepburn

Professor of environmental economics at the University of Oxford  

Jürgen Heraeus
Chairman of the Supervisory Board, Heraeus Holding

Daniiar Imanaliev
Deputy Minister of Economy, Kyrgyz Republic

Fatou Janha
Coordinator, TRY Oyster Women's Association

Pedro Jardim
Co-founder of Agora, Coliga, Apoio and Purpose Fund

Bernt Reitan Jenssen
Chief Executive Officer of Ruter, Norway

Usman Jibril
Minister Of State For Environment, Nigeria

Macharia Kamau
Ambassador of the Republic of Kenya

Tarek Keskes

Deputy Team Leader, GFA Consulting Group GmbH

Ashok Khosla

Chairman of Development Alternatives Group

Natascha Kooiman

Co-founder of Smaackmakers

Norbert Kurilla
State Secretary of the Ministry of Environment of the Slovak Republic

Rofyanto Kurniawan
Director, Center of Budget Policy, Ministry of Finance, Indonesia

Denis Lowe
Minister of Environment and Drainage, Barbados 

Lars Andreas Lunde
State Secretary, Ministry of Climate and Environment of Norway

Ursula Mathar
Head of Sustainability and Environmental protection, BMW

Shyamal Majumdar
Head of the UNESCO-UNEVOC International Centre for Technical and Vocational Education and Training

Francisco Javier Mejía
Vice Minister of Labour, Colombia

Oumaima Mhijir

Director Amal Women's Training Center and Moroccan Restaurant, Morocco 

Edna Molewa

Minister of Water and Environmental Affairs, South Africa

Helen Mountford
Director of Economics at World Resources Institute and Program Director for the New Climate Economy initiative

Lucy Muchoki

Chief Executive Officer of the Pan African Agribusiness and Agroindustry Consortium 

Alexander Müller

TEEBAgFood Study Leader and former Assistant Director General of the Food and Agriculture Organization 

Luis Neves
Chairman, Global e-Sustainability Initiative of the Information and Communication Technology Industry

Elisa Niemtzow

Director, Consumer Products of Business for Social Responsibility

Andrew Norton
Director of International Institute for Environment and Development

Kate Raworth
Senior Visiting Research Associate and lecturer at Oxford University

Roberto Ridolfi
Director of the European Commission for Sustainable Growth and Development at Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development

Frank Rijsberman
Director-General of the Global Green Growth Institute

Jeffrey Sachs
Director of Earth Institute, Columbia University

Kartikeya Sarabhai

Founder and Director of the Centre for Environment Education India

Rita Schwarzelühr-Sutter

Parliamentary State Secretary, Federal Ministry of the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety of Germany

Philippe Scholtès
Managing Director, Programme Development and Technical Cooperation, UNIDO

Nikhil Seth
Executive Director of United Nations Institute for Training and Research 

Stephan Sicars
Director of the Department of Environment, UNIDO

Karolina Skog
Minister for the Environment and Energy, Sweden

Robert Smith
Principal, Midsummer Analytics

Samantha Smith

Director, Just Transition Centre

Erik Solheim
Head of UN Environment 

Cletus I. Springer
Director of the Department of Sustainable Development, Executive Secretariat for Integral Development, Organization of American States

Achim Steiner
Director of Oxford Martin School

Esther Byer Suckoo
Minister of Labour, Social Security and Human Resource Development, Barbados

Pavan Sukhdev
UN Goodwill Ambassador

Christian Thimann
Group Head of Regulation, Sustainability and Insurance Foresight AXA Group Paris

Kimmo Tiilikainen
Minister of the Agriculture and the Environment, Finland

Batbayar Tserendorj
Vice Minister of Environment and Tourism, Mongolia

Simon Zadek
Co-Director, UN Environment Inquiry


Melinda Crane
Chief Political Correspondent, Deutsche Welle